Crucible

I went to a place called Crucible last night. My intentions were to go through my landmarks and delete those that have become obsolete (RIP Cosmic Teapot), but I pretty much abandoned that endeavor when I got to Crucible and just enjoyed the sim. There isn’t much more to do than explore, take some pictures, and relax. It’s incredibly beautiful, though anyone with camming issues would probably hate it because of all the translucent light prims.



I spent well over an hour there, wandering around and rediscovering this place I’d visited long ago with Judas. Things have changed a bit since then and I was unable to find the exact spot where the J-man and I sat around at nearly a year ago. There are a few more poses scattered about than I remember, though still not many. The pose in the last two photos was labeled forget. The first was embedded in a walkway that was made up of what looked like glass coffins. The animation is actually pretty amazing. What happens is that when you click on the glass, your body is slowly lowered into this glass box underwater. When you want to get up, you click the glass again and your body floats up through the glass and hovers for a moment, still in this crucifixion pose. It’s hauntingly beautiful, like something out of The Exorcist minus the gore. There were a few other places I would have liked to take pictures at, but I was alone and the poses required two people for the right effect. Another time, I suppose.

~ by Portia on January 12, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
