something old, something new

I tried my hand at building a little over a week ago. It was after hours and I was talking to Phoenix about something or other when he asked me when I was going to learn to build. He was going to build a gazebo, so he took that opportunity to teach me some basics. While I still haven’t finished texturing my gazebo, I have found myself inspired to continue building. I have the design for a hexagonal gazebo floating around in my head, but I’m going to finish another project first. Sometime last week, I went looking at skyboxes with Blaspheme after she showed me one she’d bought, and I was inspired to build my own. I find myself noticing prims and inspecting construction on things that catch my eye. Blaspheme was helpful with texture ideas, Phoenix showed me a way to cut prims on the columns, and Velvet suggested a door. Anyway, I had my skybox mostly done, but I started rebuilding it last night using megaprims because the seams were bugging me. I hadn’t done that before because I couldn’t be bothered to find the sizes I need, but the SALT hud made that easier. However, I got stuck again last night because I couldn’t find the right size flat prim for the second floor. The moment after I logged off for the night, new dimensions came to me. I’ll give it a shot next time I log on.

There have been a lot of changes around the club. We lost a few staff members as a result of some drama I mentioned briefly in an earlier post, but despite the fact that they were good employees, I think we’re better off now. Being a good employee doesn’t mean much if other staff members don’t want to work with you. So while some people may think we chose sides, the simple truth is that we made the decision that would leave our asses covered should LL get word of some stuff that I won’t write about here. Other than that, we’ve got our 5 vendor strip mall all rented out and are in the process of setting up more vendor space. We’ve got quite a bit of space to work with right now. Luckily there’s no shortage of ideas for it.

I went to Tindle’s wedding with Velvet and Phoenix yesterday. It was a handfasting ceremony performed in both text and voice. I think in the future I will be avoiding any weddings that come up.

In other news, an old friend has returned to SL. He showed up a few times over the last couple weeks and finally confirmed that he was back this weekend. It’s nice having him around again.

~ by Portia on May 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
