Times, they are a-changin’

The weekend seemed so much longer than two days. I suppose that’s partially due to the nature and behavior of time in-world, but I think most of it comes from all of the changes to my life over the last few weeks. I got a job hosting at Derailed back in December because I needed something new in my life. While I do love that place, I never felt quite at ease in a role other than the silent observer. It’s hard for me to make new friends. They’re a fun group and it’s a great place to hang out, but you know what they say, don’t shit where you eat. I’ve learned so much from them and have been trying to apply some of these principles to my new position as manager at Caged. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. The atmosphere and state of employee relations at the two places are entirely different. I think a lot of these things will work better at Vicious, not because the staff is any different, but because it’s all new. While I’m quite grateful for the experience I’ve gained from being a part of the Derailed team, I decided this weekend that it was time to make my split from the staff group official. So that combined with the fact that Vicious is currently serving as a Tears playground means that I’m down to filling multiple roles for two clubs. Even though I haven’t been able to take a shift there in a while, it’s a huge relief. It wasn’t fun having to say I wasn’t available every time they could have used me.

So what else? Some of the things that were discussed at the last Caged management meeting have come to fruition while others are held up because staff doesn’t seem to think they need to read notices and follow through. Soon I think I’ll start contacting people individually, hosts in particular. The campers are gone and in their place is a motorcycle display. I’ve got mixed feelings about this, but I guess we’ll see how the new arrangement works out. I’m definitely glad to see the campers gone. Their names took up too much space on my screen. It’s too bad you can’t train radars to exclude campers.

Vicious hasn’t even officially opened yet and we’re doing great. We changed the management structure a bit, combined the two management positions and created one more general manager. The less hands in that pot, the better. And I didn’t say it at the time, but I feel better about having all people we can trust in those positions. I’ve known Velvet, Bootzy, and Phoenix for a good while and I’m getting a feel for Kristin. We make a good team. The club’s currently serving as a Tears playground, an arrangement that was supposed to be temporary, but I think people are starting to feel at home there. Bootzy was telling me that people have been hanging around even when nothing’s going on, and that’s always a good sign. The staff we have so far has been great. And the building has evolved so much since Bootzy first invited me to have a look. Kristin and Phoenix retextured much of it, built the vendor area, and have spent a lot of time decorating. It’s got that urban grunge look I love.

Other than that, I’ve spent a lot of time getting to know people better. Judas and I have crossed off pretty much every limit on the list. I need to poke around on my hard drive for some pictures. There’s so much going on, and only so much that I remember. Anyway, I’ve held on to this draft long enough.

~ by Portia on January 27, 2009.

6 Responses to “Times, they are a-changin’”

  1. Pie?

  2. You won’t break my last rule! Never! NEVOOOOOOR!

  3. I’ll get you in neko ears and a tail yet!

  4. That’s not my one rule, Sexual Chocolate!

Leave a Reply

 
