RL work = return to normalcy

Yeah, you read that right. My 2 week holiday has officially come to an end, meaning I’ll be spending my days blogging rather than on SL and my existence will return to normal. Maybe I’ll even get those drafts out!

Caged turned into a drama pit last night after someone flooded local chat with spanker spam and a manager took that opportunity to ban spankers in the club. To say it didn’t go well is an understatement. I got IMs in tones ranging from wtf to fuck this I’m quitting to if x quits, so do y and z. If any of these people leave, Caged will be in a tough spot. These are some of the most reliable staff members, and they’ve done so much to improve the Caged experience. I told my friend not to do anything rash because I was working on something. I hope he took my advice. I’ll be the first to express my dislike of spankers, especially when someone’s just spanking random people (don’t touch my ass if we’re not friends!), but I’m firmly against a ban. I understand the need to address the spank flooding, but a ban is not the way to go about it. I had a lengthy discussion with a manager about this and several other things and offered up a few suggestions. I think the real problem is that people need more interaction. The spanking game gave them that interaction. The fact that many of the chronic spankers are staff members was mentioned, but I can’t say I blame them for entertaining themselves that way. Traffic dropped to an all time low, there was little conversation, and tips have been almost non-existent. If you’re not being paid for your work, you may as well try to have some fun, right? Traffic has picked up significantly but tips have not. This Saturday was Vamparo’s last event ever *emo tears* and the headcount hovered between 40 and 50 for two hours, but not a single person tipped anyone. Sign of the times? Maybe, but I’m more inclined to think that it’s still part of the holiday fallout. People are still tapped out. Anyway, I offered up some suggestions but still haven’t gotten into everything that’s been on my mind. Management is trying to move into a more professional direction and I have plenty of advice for them.

In other news, I’ve got myself two permanent DJ shifts at Caged now. Yay! I’ll be honest, ever since I got my fingers on the stream hosting just bores me. I got into Tiny Empires so I’ve been playing to entertain myself when it’s slow. I get impatient when the lag storms hit though. By the way, thanks for the new addiction, Velvet 😛 I blame you! Also, I nipped the Slick situation. He seemed to take it well, but he’s been acting strange. Judas has told me he’s got my back, as has Blaspheme (she even lined up a cock blocker for me in J’s absence..ha!), but I’m hoping things won’t go that far. Besides, I think Judas and I spend enough time together that should he wander in or send someone to spy on me, he’d either back off completely or do something to warrant the banhammer. Either way, game over.

There’s so much more that I could be writing about, but my mind is overflowing with to-dos and plans for the future. I’ve got quite a few tricks up my sleeves.

~ by Portia on January 6, 2009.

One Response to “RL work = return to normalcy”

  1. Spanking = fun when it’s people I know. I hate it when random people spank me, unless I’m working because then it’s all fair game. But I’m not a dancer, damnit! I’m a DJ, which means I do the spanking. xD

Leave a Reply

 
