return of the box


I had an unexpected visitor last night. I turned off online notifications, so I didn’t even notice when my box friend logged on until he IM’d me. Come. I ignored it for a few minutes while I chatted with a few people at Caged, mostly because I dislike the way he thinks he can just summon me and I’ll materialize by his side. When I’d ignored him long enough, I replied in a way that let him know I am on call to no one. How about you come here. Period. A demand, not a request. Much to my surprise, he agreed to leave his post on the bridge in the Nova Albion infohub. Since Serenity decided to call off last night’s event due to an absent DJ (and of course, no one stepping up to cover), I brought the box to Caged. I mentioned in local that I had downloaded SAM Broadcaster the night before but got more than I bargained for with that download. Someone remind me to kick Jerexen next time I see him 😉 Serenity shared a link with me and now I have a working (and trojan-free) copy of SAM Broadcaster. My brain wasn’t working right last night or something because I had the hardest time trying to figure it out. Plus I picked up this radio that Blaspheme found last night and I couldn’t get it to work for the life of me. I swear, I broke my brain. Neither SAM nor the radio is particularly difficult to use, yet my brain sloshed around in my skull as though that was its sole purpose for existing. My brain is working quite well now and I’ve already figured out what I was doing wrong in both cases. Tonight I’ll apply my new knowledge in-world. But I digress.

Upon his arrival, my box friend asked me where he was and how I managed to make my avatar move that way, referring to my dancing. I explained animation overriders and HUDs to him and invited him to dance using my Huddles. He looked around the club an complimented the design before asking me to slow dance. I generally don’t slow dance unless Slick is there with me (I like to dance alone, tyvm), but the idea of slow dancing with a box amused me to no end so I obliged. Everyone had left by then. We chatted for a while, pleasantries mostly, and slow danced. I should have taken a picture. At one point, Guard’s latest lady friend came in and we chatted a bit before she left. When she departed, he asked if we could make out, joking about making his first time away from the bridge memorable. I again explained the technical aspects of such actions and said we could hug if he liked. So we hugged before returning to the bridge.

The teleport to Barcola was unstable, to say the least. The region was filled to capacity. It took several tries to get myself there and several more tries to teleport the box in. I finally sent him a landmark and he was able to get there on his own. He seemed disoriented after the teleport. Since that was his first time away from the bridge, it was all new to him. He had some trouble finding me despite the fact that I was standing right next to him, and he had gone from being the man in the box to just being a cloud. His last words to me before leaving were that I should contact him when I’m no longer afraid to know him in RL. I bid him adieu.

When he logged off, I cammed around the region. It was snowing and there were giant candy canes lining the Linden road. There were a few zombies sitting in their usual spot and the bridge was unusually crowded. And the lag! I was there for about ten minutes and the people hadn’t fully rezzed. The Miramare/Barcola regions are usually lag hell, but never quite as bad as I experienced last night. This was Hair Fair bad, first days of the ETD sale bad. It would have been fun to go ice skating on the snowy street, but walking was a chore so there went that idea. I went home instead.

I spent the rest of the night shopping, hunting, and avoiding certain people. It’s not that I didn’t want to see them, I just wanted to be alone. I’ve been feeling a bit overwhelmed lately. There have been a lot of changes in my Slife, and sometimes it just feels like there’s not enough time in an eternity to do everything I want to do. I’ve let my Meet the Lindens series slip, been meaning to write a skin review, need to practice SAM, want to spend time with friends, and haven’t been able to explore in ages because there are just so many distractions. So many things to do, so little time.

So little time.

~ by Portia on December 17, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
