work, friends, shopping!

snapshot_0011
I haven’t forgotten about Meet the Lindens, I just haven’t gotten around to heading back to Linden Village yet. A new installment comes this weekend.

Work was fun last night. I was worried that the event would be canceled because the one before was, but Brian stepped up and did his first official DJ gig. I arrived around 6PM SLT, an hour before my shift, and found the place occupied only by Battlesword (manager) and Stingray (DJ/master scripter). Battle explained that they were short a host and no VIPs showed up, so after half an hour they canceled. We chatted a bit and once we were sure there would be a DJ for my shift, I decided we’d go with a popular theme (nearly naked) to try and get people in the door. For the first time in a while, all the staff members participated. I think having an event come together after the last one fell apart was uplifting, particularly for Battle. He tries his best to keep things running smoothly and it can be a real letdown when you’re doing everything right and it’s still not working. Brian kept up with requests and did an overall awesome job. While there were never a lot of people in there at one time, many did drop in and we all made a nice chunk of cash in tips. We hung around a little longer after the event ended just to chat. I left feeling really good about myself and about the friendships that are coming out of this job.

When we parted ways, I decided to take a look around the rest of the sim. Serenity’s got some parcels for sale, so considering the current OS sim issue I think it’s a good idea to start looking into other options. I’m renting, so I really have no control over what’s going to happen to my secluded island paradise. Besides, the lag was unbearable the last few nights. So I flew around the sim to see what was left and who was already living there. I’m still paid up for another month, so I’m not buying anything yet. I saw what I needed to see and then headed to Sn@tch to see what was in the lucky chairs. Instead of paying attention to the chairs, I ended up impulse buying a dress (you don’t own me, btw) and *gasp* chatting with the DJ and models. One of the models was wearing a pair of boots that I just had to have. Because I was in a good mood from the positivity at work, I tipped all of them before running off to find those boots.
snapshot_002
I went to Discord and was immediately overwhelmed by how much stuff there was. Luckily the boots were not far from the landing point. Let me tell you, the pictures on their website do a disservice to the clothes. If you’re like me, a bad picture on a blog or website will dissuade you from visiting the store. I’d link to some blogs to prove my point, but I’m not a jerk. Those pictures do not do the clothing justice! My pictures aren’t great, but they do give a better impression of the actual quality of these clothes. I got adventurous after buying the boots and wandered into the clothing section of the store. There is so much variety, it’s nearly impossible to look at everything in one visit. The dress cost me a measly 99L and the boots were a steal at 199L. I expected a much higher price tag, but one thing I’m learning is that a lot of Japanese creators sell high quality items at lower prices than one expects. And they have several lucky chairs in one area and lucky boards scattered around.

I went home to try on my new clothes and take pictures, but the lag was terrible. I couldn’t move! It was so bad that I actually lagged out while trying to take a step. When I logged back in, I couldn’t walk at all. I relogged yet again and got stuck in a sit. I only managed to take the two pictures before my patience wore off.

I’ve got a lot on my mind that will probably make it to the blog, but I’m tired.

~ by Portia on November 8, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
