tl;dr

The weekend was pretty good, though I’m beginning to feel like I’m sinking into a routine that I’m not entirely comfortable with. Is that what happens when you get a job? My RL self is inclined to say yes, but isn’t SL supposed to be my perfect world? Luckily, it’s easier to break free from a rut in the SL universe.

I had the first shift on Saturday. Vamparo was DJing, so the music was good. I did manage to stump him with my request (Signal Zero by Requiem), but he told me he’s determined to get it and will have it for next time. I spent much of the time sharing a dance pole with Faytar. I’m not sure when the poles got switched out for dual poles, but they’re kinda fun. That was the first time I every got on the pole at Caged. I should have taken a picture. The theme was spikes/chains, so I wore my new favorite shorts, tank top, spiky/chainy belt, and a wild mohawk. There used to be a pole for VIPs, but it was gone before I remembered that I wanted to play on it. The owners are always changing things. I miss the bumper cars on the roof. Speaking of change, there’s a BIAB mall thing going up next door in the plot where that other club used to be. Bleh. I’m sure it’ll be gone soon enough.

I spent my day wandering around the grid looking at clubs I’d seen advertised on some website. I was reading employment listings and thought I’d take a look at a few clubs that sounded interesting. Most were deeply embedded in malls (one of my pet peeves), so I looked around and left. The one I was really interested in wasn’t surrounded in mall and looked really cool, but it was empty. I suppose that has to do with the time of day I dropped in (it was way before work). Anyway, the building is a freaking submarine! How cool is that? And the ad says staff makes 1000L in tips per shift on average. They’re hiring for all time zones, so maybe I’ll apply. I need to remember to give Blaspheme the landmark. She’s not looking for a job, but she might want to have a look around. It’s a neat place. Plus I’d like to hang out there for a while to see what the atmosphere is like before applying.

That evening I returned to Dimension of Tears (the dome) for their first event as a public club. The contest was best hats, so I wore my favorite top hat from Sinistyle. When winners were announced, I cammed around to take a look and found that one of them was wearing the exact same outfit I was! I’d just bought that outfit earlier in the day. She was even wearing the same Sinistyle hat! The only difference in our outfits was that I did not wear the shoes included with the outfit, but instead wore my favorite boots. If she had looked any more identical to me, I would have been pissed. Individuality is the precise reason I choose to wear a shape I created over one that can be bought somewhere. There are a lot of nice shapes out there but I’d rather not find myself face to face with my own face. My shape is uniquely mine. Anyway, I acquired a weekend job hosting at Dimension of Tears while I was dancing away and mostly minding my own business. In fact, I started that night. And I learned something during my first shift there. There are places where staff doesn’t freak out if the crowd is quiet. There wasn’t tons of local chatter during my shift and people still had a good time. Also, people in general are morons. This one woman started defending her request (Paris Hilton) while the others were WTFing. At one point she said Paris Hilton should run for president. That stupid comment alone nearly set me off, but I managed to limit myself to one comment. And I also learned that people will come from the outside for an event that isn’t terribly overdone. I’ve been using SL-Events and secondnightlife for a short while and haven’t seen any increase in traffic from them at Caged, but the first time I sent a notice from Dimension of Tears four people showed up. The theme? Formal wear. I wore my Rebecca Cocktail dress by Nicky Ree, pearl necklace by JCNY, and Vintage Vixen hair by JetDoll. I was in a good mood before my shift, so I picked up a pair of Verve pumps in a matching shade of red by Maitreya to go with my outfit. Can’t always wear combat boots 😀 Anyway, I had a little trouble hosting because I couldn’t send notices at first (this has been fixed) and I couldn’t operate the contest board. Luckily both Phoenix and Velvet were there to handle those little problems. I’d say it was a pretty successful first day.

Sunday was a lazy day. I didn’t have work until 6PM SLT, so bounced around between lucky chairs for a while. Sn@tch has two lucky chairs now. The sim has been ridiculously laggy since the chairs were installed. That and the game that’s going on on the other side of the sim. Ps are rare chair letters, so I was surprised when I actually won something on my first visit of the day. I won a set of facial piercings. I don’t know if I’ll ever wear them though. The piece includes 3 bridge piercings, which I like, but they’re CBRs and that’s a big body mod no-no. You do not wear rings in surface piercings! I can’t do it, even in a virtual world.

When I got to work I found that I’d be hosting for that one DJ I mentioned in a previous post. Shortly into his set, he mentioned that he’s not used to spinning metal and usually plays industrial. So that explains why he was playing generic metal-ish rock the other night. His set got more enjoyable after I told him that it was okay to stray from the metal a bit since it was the late shift. I figured it was alright since the crowd consisted of mostly his friends and the campers. Speaking of the campers, one spoke yesterday! I was looking her over during my shift and couldn’t get over the fact that she was nearly a year old and wore BIAB quality freebie clothes and system shoes.

I didn’t get a schedule for the week so I’m assuming it’s the same. I’m going to shake things up tonight though. You just watch.

~ by Portia on October 14, 2008.

2 Responses to “tl;dr”

  1. Blimey! That’s a full week! I say take it easy and spend the next week exploring and playing games in SL 🙂

  2. I definitely have to make more time for exploration! I guess I just got comfortable in my own place ever since I made a home here. Have any game recommendations? 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
